6 Things Food Allergy Moms Need To Do

I just realized it’s been over two weeks since my last post.  There’s a ton of reasons for that, some good and some not so good.  Our nearly 17-month old daughter has not napped in that span of time.  I have no idea what’s going on, but that’s one of the not-so-good reasons.  I’m just exhausted.  Also, I’m on a committee that organizes a children’s consignment sale at our church.  It was a great sale this time, but it sucks a lot of my time at home right out of my day-but it’s worth it!  Lastly, I’ve simply been in a bit of a funk.  Not depressed, just in a funk that has zapped my energy and motivation.  I’m hoping that this week I can get back into our routine, make some positive changes, and get back on track-with blogging and just life in general!

When I get like this, I can’t help but admit that it’s a nagging, come-and-go side effect of being a food allergy mom.  I love summer and the memories of my own summertime childhood that it conjures up.  Spontaneity, though, is one thing that food allergies has stripped from our family life.  It leaves me feeling deflated and pre-planning our every single move, lest anyone should get hungry while away from home without safe options available to us.  It’s tiring, and it wears on me.

Lately, though, I’ve been concentrating on taking care of myself.  For the past 3 1/2 years I’ve done nothing but focus whole-heartedly on my son.  What he eats, what he touches, what he breathes, what he does.  I’ve hardly given a thought to myself.  I’ve known this for awhile, but there’s only so much time in the day, right?  When our daughter was born 17 months ago, my focus was now on two kids-one with food allergies and one with possible food allergies.  I’m still holding on to some weight gain during & after my first pregnancy.  The only good thing, is that I’m 10 pounds lighter than where I started right before my 2nd pregnancy.  That’s something to hold on to, right?!  Then there’s my frumpy Mom Wardrobe.  It’s so hard to be frump-less on a tight budget, especially when you want to lose some weight.  Ugh.

So, where am I going with this post?  I want to share with you, fellow moms (not just food allergy moms), what I plan to do to invest in myself.  I know that it will benefit my children in the long run, and I encourage YOU to do the same.

1.  EXERCISE.  This is the hardest to fit in, trust me, I get it.  Even if it’s just a 20 minute walk, 3 times a week, that’s fine.  It’s a great stress reliever and all around good for you.

2.  READ.  Let a novel take you away from the day-to-day.  Bonus points if you let your kids see you read…you get 15 minutes of rest while you teach your children that reading is one of the best hobbies ever.

3.  EAT WELL.  If I put as much thought to what I put in my own mouth as I do to what the kids eat, I just may be down a few pants sizes.  ‘Nuff said.

4.  GET A ROUTINE.  Sticking to a routine can make things go smoother.  I know this.  When will I believe myself and do it?!  I struggle with this big time.

5.  GET AWAY.  Even if just for a short trip to Target, a night out with friends, or a date with your hubby-do it.  And don’t feel guilty.  Not one little bit.  While you’re at it, eat something yummy that you can’t have at home around your FA kiddo.  It’s OK.  Don’t beat yourself up.  Wash up before you head home, and don’t regret it.

6.  STOP COMPARING.  When scrolling through your Facebook Newsfeed, or perusing Pinterest, go easy on yourself.  Being a mom in this day and age is REALLY  difficult.  I can’t imagine how much simpler life must have been for my mom without distractions from the internet.  Don’t feel like you have to be Holly Homemaker 100% of the time.  We all have messy kitchens and circles under our eyes more often than we’d care to admit-we just don’t post those pictures on Facebook.

This list could go on and on, but you get it, and I’m going to do my best to “get it” myself.  Take it one step at a time, simplify, and invest in yourself.  You deserve it and so does your food allergic child.  No matter what season of life you’re in, you CAN do this food allergy thing, take care of yourself, and don’t let Mom Guilt weigh you down.

KeepCalmYou'reAGreatMom

Food Allergy Moms, what do you do to invest in yourself?  Leave a comment and some encouragement for fellow FA Moms below.

3 thoughts on “6 Things Food Allergy Moms Need To Do

  1. While back to school presents a whole set of challenges with 2 allergy kids, it is a time of joy for me also. One of the things my husband and I do when the kids are in school is meet up for lunch at places we would never eat out with the kids (Ok, we don’t take our kids out anywhere :). It is not only a date but a chance to eat the forbidden fruit with no guilt. We love the local Indian buffet, somewhere we can eat in half an hour, and have some of our favorites! And 10 lbs under is fab! ROCK ON!

Questions or comments? Let's hear from you...

